Thursday, November 21, 2013

My Thoughts on X and Y

     Pokemon X and Y are neat games, that goes without saying. However, I've enconuntered an issue just by watching X and Y: The new Pokemon are really hard to find. I'm all for Pokemon from other regions, but not to the point where new ones are almost impossible to find. This is gonna' be another Pokemon game with tons of Geodude(who are the worst), Zubat, and Machop. I don't want that. I don't like Machop, Zubat, or Geodude. I want a Kalos team, just like how my first team in Pokemon Black was pure Unova. This is apparently going to be difficult. 

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Pokemon X and Y are very different from the other Pokemon games

Pokemon X and Pokemon Y are amazing games, except, how do they stand out from the rest? Well, I am about to tell you. Please enjoy reading my light-hearted top 5 reasons Pokemon X and Y stands out from red, blue, green, ruby, sapphire, whatever. Here we go!

5) Discover MORE pokemon!

4) You know how in the past pokemon games you could only connect your DS to wi-fi connections with certain security settings? Not the case in the Kalos region!

3) 3D!

2) The Pokemon league is more awesome than EVER!

1) Now you can show to your Gameboy/DS friends that you have legendary pokemon that they can't catch. So you can get your friends that brag about their legendary pokemon to shut up.

Well, there you have it! The top 5 reasons how Pokemon X and Y will change the way you play pokemon forever! Thanks for reading! - Vinny

Sunday, October 6, 2013

Nintendo releases Nintendo 2DS for two reasons

The Nintendo releases another piece of hardware in the Nintendo 3DS  family. Hint: It doesn't have 3D.

I apologize how void "2DS" sounds. The trailer for the Nintendo 2DS on Nintendo's YouTube channel got so many dislike and hater comments. Enough talking about a YouTube video though. Let's talk about the 2DS. Click here to see video.

The Nintendo 2DS might sound exactly how it sounds - A DS in 2D. It's true. The Nintendo 2DS acts exactly as a 3DS with no 3D. After figuring out its release date(October 12), I can think of two big reasons why the 2DS was created.

1) No 3D. If there is no 3D capability, that will allow more sales for kids 6 and under. Now, you can tell me that you can set parental controls to restrict the 3D, but the Nintendo 2DS is starting at $130 MSRP. The lower price will encourage this hardware as a gift to kids. $70 less than my 3DS is quite a deal.

2) Pokemon X and Y. You can't say that this will not be a big hit. It's Pokemon! So many kids of many ages will be playing this game no do doubt about it. The Nintendo 2DS will increase the sales of Pokemon X and Y by even more. It is safe to assume that a 2DS and Pokemon X or Y bundle will be created. Or with the 3DS as well.

Now, I am going to prove that the Nintendo 2DS is real. Click here. I am not a fraud. - Vinny 

Friday, September 27, 2013

Lame Copies Confirmed!

     Ok, I'm all for SSB. Super Smash is by far the greatest Nintendo game on the face of the Earth, arguably one of the greatest video games of all time. However, when you play the three, you realize, er my gerd, THEY'RE ALL THE SAME. You think Cap.Falcon is cool and original. Bam, now there's Gannondorf. Psh, whaddya mean they're exactly the same?! Yeah right,(nervously backs away) not even remotely(now running). Link is awesome right, bam, Toon Link. Ness, bam, Lucas. Fox? Bam,Falco, bam, Wolf. Mewtwo, bam, Lucario. I find it terrifying, mainly because I don't want a faster knock-off Zelda, or a stronger not-Ice Climbers. I want originality, and if I don't get it in the next release, I might be a little more reluctant for the next one(which we all know there will be one, as Nintendo likes milking all the series they have access to).

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Tetris Axis

Tetris Axis

Tetris Axis shows what can be done with shapes made of  four colored square blocks. I know this game was released a while ago, but there is no other review for this game, so why not? I'ts insanely addicting! For $10, A long plane ride, car drive, etc. can go WAY faster with this game.


The Graphics of the game re-create what all tetris games looked like. The Shapes seem to look the same, but of course higher quality since this is a 3DS, not an older device capable of  Tetris.


Sound tracks I have found so far seem to be identical to Tetris Party LIVE for DSiWare. I cannot say much in this category. The sound quality depends if you are using the 3DS speakers, or headphones. You should notice a difference there.


I have counted 18 different Game Modes. Each Unique in their own way.


Traditional Marathon, you know...

Computer Battle

Ten Computers will challaege you to battle in tetris one by one.


Play in a narrow Matrix to clear as many lines as you can in 60 seconds. Coins can be exchanged for items to help you clear lines.


Play in a narrow Matrix to clear as many lines as possible as incoming lines slowly make their way to the top.


Use tetris pieces to finish a jigsaw puzzle.

Shadow Wide

Place tetris pieces into the backround's shadow to complete the picture.


Shoot tetris pieces into holes in the plane of the same shape to clear them.

Tower Climber

Stack tetris pieces on a Cylindrical Matrix to guide a white climber to the top of the Matrix

Bombliss Plus

Clear lines with bomb pieces in tetris pieces to destroy blocks.

Stage Racer Plus

Race through a course using tetris pieces.


Cover stars on the Matrix with tetris pieces from the "front" and "back" to obtain them.

Master Mode

Tetris pieces fall at their fastest from the start.


Clear 40 lines as fast as possible

AR Marathon

Augmented Reality Marathon. That sounded repetitive.

AR Climber

Augmented Reality Tower Climber. Repetitive once again.

Multiplayer Modes:

Local Play

Download Play

Internet Match


I find this game very convenient to just kill time. With so many different modes to play.

Graphics: 7
Sound: 7
Content: 10
Replay Value: Very High

Final Rating


Friday, August 16, 2013


     I need some people who love Nintendo just as much as I do to help me in making Nintendo Game Review the perfect place for curious Nintendo gamers. Anyone who truly wants to help will get the chance to put one post up, and if I approve of it, then I'll let you continue assisting me in my electronic quest to deliver knowledge of Nintendo and related topics. Just comment your email if you want to help.

The Dreaded 2

     When you make a video game, either people will love it and want a sequel, or hate it and you'll get no money. If I was a game designer, which is my most likely career choice into the future, then it would depend on the game. Just because a game is good doesn't mean it needs a sequel. Many video game series have died because the wonderful creators got replaced with people who didn't make new ideas, but recycled old ones till' they crumbled to dust.It's not doing games justice to do sequel after sequel after prequel. It's NOT RIGHT. Mario deserves a break. Link needs cool off. Put Kirby up front, or DK, because they need redemption more than Olimar does. I don't need Pikmin 3 more than Wonderful 101, or Mario and Luigi: Dream Team more than Theif. If a game has a sequel, and it improves the original, then fine, but there are so many Final Fantasies that I can't even begin to say how milked that series is. +1 if you think that we need some original ideas. 

Demo 101

     There is a new demo in the open, and Wii U owners will give out feminine squeals of delight at the pinnacle of play, the hippo of humor, and the beauty to behold, The Wonderful 101. Yes, the demo is out, and I've gotta' say, I haven't been so excited for a game's release since Naruto Ultimate Ninja Impact. I can't begin to say how refreshing it is to see a new formula, even if it's reminiscent of the Pikmin series. If this is how well this game dishes out through the entire game, then I will be shocked if anyone gives this game worse than an eleven rating(yes, I'm aware that's not possible).

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Be a Good Nerd, Not a Stupid one

In the year 2013, this man decided
to wear this costume even at the cost
of his own dignity
     OK, so this is a message to all nerd kind, including myself. I can't imagine life without a couple gaming trinkets, or a game based off your favorite TV series, even if it's horrible, but for the love of all that is geek, please don't dress like Krystal. Of everything you could do, you don't need to be like that. There are limits to how far you need to go. I know it's a little late for this, as weirdoes have already appeared and disappeared at the San Diego Comic-con, but it's just something I need to say. When people say the sky is the limit, they don't mean the edge of the exosphere. It's not right to expose people to your style based off of Hyrule's finest. Honestly, if I wanted to see a 40 year old woman fit into Sheik's clothing, I would search among the already enormous gallery of weird old people in nerdy cosplay costumes. Don't...just don't...

Sorry for the Hold-Up

     Recently, I haven't posted any reviews. This is due to the lack of money, as I have none. However, this is also because I have no games that have been released recently besides Pikmin 3, of which I cannot get because of faulty nunchucks and lack of money. However, if I can find a way to get a boost in the pageviews on this blog, then I can put up AdSense and get enough money to keep this going, because I can't keep reviews afloat if I don't have anything to review. However, if you want something to see if Pikmin 3 is worth it, which I'm sure it is, just check Otherwise, I don't have anything to give besides hope that you'll subscribe and articles anticipating releases. However, come Christmas, I plan to have the Wind Waker remake, Naruto Ultimate Ninja Storm Full Burst for the PC(of which I'm most excited about), and Super Mario 3D World, as well as guaranteeing I possess SSB Wii U ASAP.

Tuesday, July 30, 2013

Super Legend of the Fire Red Air Ride Bros.

     If you could only have Link, Mario,Pikachu or Kirby in the next Super Smash, who would you choose?  Well, those might not be the decisions, but Nintendo is gonna' have to crack a few eggs to make the holy omelet they're cooking. They have removed Subspace Emissiary because one of the scenes was released on the internet. With the removal of Toon Link, and the undeniable, yet not confirmed deletion of Lucario, Wolf, Ike, and Solid Snake, and the scary thought that they haven't confirmed the commonly appearing Zelda, Peach, Jigglypuff, and Ness, most are concerned if Nintendo is on the right track. I, for one, don't really like the main characters.I love my Zelda. I like Ness, Peach, Ice Climbers, R.O.B(shocker), Meta Knight, Game & Watch and Ike. I have preferences. I love Kirby and F-Zero stages, I never use any mode but stock, and I enjoy killing Squirtle, as I really,really, really despise Squirtle. Will what I want be in the next SSB? Will I be one of the cracked eggs? Probably so. All you can do is hope and pray that your favorites make it in.

Saturday, July 27, 2013

New Super Mario Bros. U-Something to Jump For or a Reason to Leave Your Yoshi Saddle in the Original
     When I played New Super Mario Bros. Wii for the first time, the only true Mario game I've played, it struck me as magical. I could play with my little brother, or my best friend, and still have the time to pick them up near the end and chuck them down a canyon. I could saddle up a Yoshi without squirting juice all over Piantas(Super Mario Sunshine reference:D), and eat apples and save my friends from certain doom by keeping them in my mouth pouch. So I had to trade it in eventually, but it helped get my New Super Mario Bros. U.When the game reeled me in, it was hypnotic, but frustrating. Even the 1st level was ridiculously hard for me, even with the help of the booster, someone who can make platforms for Mario and his pals to jump on. If I was rating this for just how long and hard I worked to wield a baby yoshi who walked off a cliff, this game would be considered electronic limbo... but I'm not rating it like that. Instead, I'll give it some credit for a hook and sinker, the fact that boost mode has kept me interested, and the fact my siblings love it. My largest issue is you need certain updates to play this game, and instead of Nintendo adding the update to another one, you have to update at least three times, or some doors will lead to an error message.
     Overall, I had a lot of fun. It's just not striking me the same way that the original did. Mario is beginning to fade into obscurity, and honestly is mooching off his own spin-off series(which there are way too many of). Maybe a new Super Mario Sunshine, or a Wii U Strikers could save the day, if they can pull it off, but for the time being, he's practically dead.

Monday, July 1, 2013

Olimar is Dead? Or is he just really, really slow?

     So, Olimar isn't the protagonist of Pikmin 3, I know, but I didn't know the name of any of the new adventurers, and my sadness destroyed my motivation to find out. Nintendo has been holding back for a while, and I'm getting angry. If it takes any longer, then they won't get any buyers, because Pokemon is coming out in October. Basically, Pikmin was supposed to come out in the launch window of the Wii U, but Nintendo was pressed for time, so they sent it all the way to June. Then, in order to make people even more irritated, they sent it to August 4th. Hopefully, they won't push the date any farther. Other games I'm looking forward to:Super Mario 3D World, Pokemon X/Y, Super Smash Bros. for Wii U/3DS, Legend of Zelda Wii U Title, and the Sonic title.

Saturday, June 29, 2013

We Like Ike!

     This is not a review. This is more of a protest. I have searched the web inside and out for SSB(super smash bros) information. What I found made me want to tackle Masahiro Sakurai. When he said Toon Link was a no-show, I wasn't angry. In fact, the removal of a clone in SSB makes anyone happy. Then he said the hideous new Mewtwo form might take Lucario's space. I was pretty irked by that, as I was hoping for Zoroark, and bringing in X and Y might cause Black and White to be ignored completely.  HOWEVER, when I found that that Chrom, the newest character in the Fire Emblem series, might replace Ike, I got seriously angry. Ike is one of my best characters, along with Zelda, Peach, Pikachu, Cap. Falcon and Ness. Ike replaced Roy, and I was OK with that, but Chrom has no magic. None. Nadda. Ike has a huge sword that he can hold with one hand, and it can burst into flames. I also don't like Chrom. He's too much like Marth.His game isn't that fun anyway, as I've never got too interested in Fire Emblem.
     Ike. Ike is awesome. Vote if you think Ike should stay.

Friday, June 28, 2013

Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance 3D- Just a Lot of Words or Entirely Worth Talking About

     I am a huge Kingdom Hearts fan. I love it almost as much as I love chocolate, Naruto, and Pokemon. It doesn't necessarily make sense to me, or anyone else I know who enjoys the franchise, but the gameplay is what matters. Even if Mickey is on the cover, it's worth being made fun of.
     First of all, if you haven't played any other Kingdom Hearts games, then don't start with this one, for the sake of plot and also because I don't want your brain to burst into a billion pieces.
     Let me say that this game, for being portable, is drop-dead gorgeous, as Kingdom Hearts games must be at the standards of Disney Interactive and Ledgendary Developer/Publisher Square Enix. If you don't know what Square Enix is, then you should be one of those noobs who talks about how much he loves the company he can't name for making Mario. That's how amazing this company is.
     If platforming is what you want, you're in for a treat. Magic and blades, the ultimate nerdy package and the reason for the exsistance of Fire Emblem. It's a fun game, but even if the NPC's are perfect, and the commands are cool, if you get a t-rex to act like a puppy, or if the levels bring back pleasant memories from your childhood, there are some issues.
     It costs a lot of money to get dream eater ingredients, and some of the cool ones, like the sabretoothed tiger, are almost impossible. It's ridiculous how unfairly balanced Sora and Riku are, as Riku has more bosses and has more difficulty leveling up.When you can't kill young Xeanort, cry me a river. I can't do squat to 'em either.
     In all, this game is totally and unfairly difficult, but I can't say how much fun it was getting to my breaking point.Though I haven't met a single person who has gotten past where I am, it's OK. It's not exactly possible...

Sonic All-Stars Racing Transformed- At the Finish or Gone Flat

     This is a great game, no doubt about it. It takes forever to get the character you want though, being that if you aren't a fan of Sonic, Super Monkey Ball, or Jet Set Radio, you have a long way to go before you meet up with NiGHTS or Gilius Thunderhead. It's hard to the point of tears, and it's only easy with the gamepad. When you get into it though, it might just make you buy the older sibling of this game, even if it is really bad.
     I started with World Tour, immediately attatching myself to Meemee from Super Monkey Ball(though I wish they had Yanyan instead), and growing a hatred to the echidna known as Knuckles. Yes, I'm aware Meemee is a very girly character, but it's kinda' funny to annihilate my foes using a monkey wearing a skirt. I do the same thing with Peach and Zelda in SSBB, and Hinata in Naruto.
     I never thought there was any item set more creative than Mario Kart, but with a blowfish, an RC car, and fireworks at your disposal, I was proven wrong. It was irritating to have locks in your way which required you to do better in some events,they were sometimes discouraging, but always worth it. Finding Shadow in an area you got yourself has never been so redeeming.
     However, I found that while it's fun to do some things, multiple mechanics, like drifting and tricks, are relied on too heavily, and I can't say how hard it is for people to get used to it, especially while in flight. The
graphics are good in some places, and poor in others, and some faces look like they've been blurred out.
     You can't say this is a bad game, because you'd be wrong, but I miss the older Sega characters, like Opa Opa, the Mobo Brothers, or the ridiculously strange and fun, but forgotten Billy Hatcher. Sega needs to dig deeper, because they can give more, but DLC's are on the way, so who knows? Maybe the chicken boy will return to the track after a long day of rolling.

Nintendoland- Seriously Gimmicky or Perfect Show

     Nintendoland obviously is some sort of gimmick. We all know that, but gimmicks can be fun too. I'm not sure whether it's my faulty nunchucks, pitiful motion plus, or just that the game wasn't that great, but something ruined Nintendoland, and even though she wasn't exactly a blast, Monita wasn't the problem.
     I started the Wii U off with just Scribblenauts, but something told me that it wasn't enough. The kraken being eaten by a hungry mutant bunny wasn't enough. So, with my remaining Christmas money, I bought Nintendoland. I knew that this game's fun would be limited as soon as I saw,"Nunchuck required for some games" NOOOOOOO!!! You see, I have an issue with our nunchucks, as they are so awful they might make your character run backwards. With motion plus, it gets even worse. I can't say how badly I wished I hadn't bought it when I found out the metroid game required both. Metroid is my favorite. Too bad the ship is my only option... >:(  So, when I decided to start with Luigi's Mansion, I took in a breath of fresh air. It's  miracle. All the versus games were fantastic, all my siblings loved it. But we couldn't play Metroid or Zelda... sigh...
     After about two days, I went back to Scribblenauts. I didn't miss a thing. The game has limited appeal, and once you're done saying, "hey, I'm wearing a toad hat", you start saying, "*@#*!&%$ nunchuck!" like I did, or, " Meh...". It's a gimmick. It did the best it could, but you can't expect any more than a slow shake of the head and a slap in the face when you're done.


Scribblenauts Unlimited- No Limits or Stiff Boundaries?

     This is my little game of catch-up. I'm starting with the stuff I have in order to get to what I've recently gotten. So, onto the topic.
     Scribblenauts is, by far, the absolute most adorable yet utterly horrifying thing I've ever come to terms with. To give no restrictions to the human brain is ridiculous, however it didn't turn out that way. You have Maxwell, a little boy who has an enormous family with one sister more important than the rest. However, due to an unfortunate set of events, Maxwell's sister is petrified. In order to break her free, he must collect starites, basically stars obtained from doing exiting, yet occasionally drab, puzzles which require your magic notebook and your apparently endless possibilities.
     However, some of these puzzles just aren't creative. "Put out the fire", "feed the mouse", "give the girl a boyfriend", it doesn't necessarily spark creativity. You have missions that are more fun, like defending a town from bandits, or helping an alien translate, but mostly, I had more fun lounging in one location, releasing Medusa onto the people of St.Asterisks, or giving chocolate to a purple electric cockroach. It's sad to know that you have all the power in the world, but are restrained to getting a cat out of a tree with a ladder instead of a jet pack, or the neck of a dinosaur.
     In all, it was a wonderful experience(with an ending explaining why not to let your parents touch your stuff), but it had dry moments. I prefer freedom and puzzles, to goals and weakness, but this game gets a little too much credit. 

What This Is
     Nintendo Game Review does exactly what it says it's gonna' do. It informs you on what games to buy and/or trash. I most definitely am most loyal to Nintendo, as I believe Microsoft should stick to computers and Sony, though it makes decent profit, breaks everything it makes. I have a Wii U, a 3DS, and even though I can't hit on most things, I'll do what I can.